Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class wpdb in /home/pokertournamentw/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 49

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/pokertournamentw/public_html/wp-includes/cache.php on line 36

Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class WP_Object_Cache in /home/pokertournamentw/public_html/wp-includes/cache.php on line 403
2009 | Live & Online Poker Tournament News
top preloadmiddle preloadbase preload

Poker Tournament » Live Poker Tournaments » European Poker Tour (EPT) »


Wednesday, March 18, 2009 | Francis Lee


644 players started out in the 2009 EPT Dortmund leg all looking to win the €917,000 on offer to the winner.  The tournament was scheduled to be played over four days, with the field being split to start with having two day one’s.  The final table would be set once the last eight players were left after day three.

After both starting fields completed the first days play, William Thorson and Marco Noll topped the leader board on each day respectively.  Just 252 players survived to come back to fight out the next session when both fields were mixed together.  The second days play saw Holger Kanisch storm up the chip rankings, to end the day as chip leader with the field reduced to just 34 players.

The race for the final table was on with just eight places available on the third day.  Play was tight as there was a lot at stake and it took a while for the last eight to be left standing.  Once play had got to this stage Johan Storakers was sat on top of the leader board with $1.6 million in chips, over half a million more than his nearest rival Luca Pagano.  William Thorson and last year’s champion Mike McDonald was also in the reckoning in third and forth place. The rest of the field was closely bunched together with the short stack having over half a million in chips.

Final Table Chip Rankings

  • 1st Johan Storakers $1,615,000
  • 2nd Luca Pagano $1,115,000
  • 3rd William Thorson $829,000
  • 4th Mike McDonald $746,000
  • 5th Holger Kanisch $661,000
  • 6th Sandra Naujoks 586,000
  • 7th Marc Gork $540,000
  • 8th Cengizcan Ulusu $537,000

It took an hours play for the first elimination to come about.  This went to short stacked Cengizcan Ulusu just after loosing most of his stack to Mike McDonald.  He got the last of his chips in with :jh :9h and was dominated by Marc Gork’s pocket Jacks, which held up to win the pot.

William Thorson’s search for this first EPT title came to an end when getting his chips in with :9h :8s on the Flop showing :7c :9s :10c His opponent Johan Storakers was behind to start with calling with :kc :jd but soon moved into the lead when a King hit on the Turn.  No help came for Thorson on the River sending him to the rail in seventh place.

It took another long period of play before the next knock out and it turned out to be Luca Pagano.  Pagano started out the day in second place, but didn’t have any luck throughout and found himself on the short stack.  After a few lucky breaks when all in, the end came when he got his chips in with pocket Sevens against Gork’s :ad :9h Pagano lost the race leaving him to collect €153,000 in sixth place.

Sandra Naujoks went on a run from this point eliminating last years champion Mike McDonald and then Johan Stroakers to take a commanding chip lead going into three handed play.  First she eliminated McDonald with pocket Tens vs. :kd :jh and Stroakers found his :as :qc dominated by :ad :kc

All three remaining players, Holger Kanisch. Gork and Naujoks resided in Germany meaning this years EPT Dortmund winner would become a home champion.  Gork started out well taking the chip lead from Naujoks but then lost it back straight away before going out in third place.  Gork got his last chip in with :kh :10h but missed the board showing :2c :qd :5c :jd :5h against Naujok with pocket Sevens.

Heads up play was an exciting spectacle as the chip lead swung from player to player.   Both players came back from being down and out to get back into the match and take the lead themselves.  This match looked like it was going to turn into a marathon battle until the last hand came.  All the chips went in with Kanisch looking likely to double up with :ad :qc against Naujok’s :as :9s but the :9c on the Turn proved decisive giving her the pot and the first place jackpot.

This meant Sandra Naujok was only the second female to win an EPT championship and she collected the €917,000 first place prize.  The next leg in this years EPT series will take us to San Remo in Italy from the 18th - 23rd April.

Final Standings

  • 1st Sandra Naujoks €917,000
  • 2nd Holger Kanisch €533,000
  • 3rd Marc Gork €307,000
  • 4th Johan Storakers €237,000
  • 5th Mike McDonald €197,000
  • 6th Luca Pagano €153,000
  • 7th William Thorson €116,500
  • 8th Cengizcan Ulusu €83,500

Win your seat to next month’s EPT event in San Remo, Italy at the sattelites currently taking place at Poker Stars



Be the first to post a comment on this article.


PTW Poker Freerolls

Join Team Poker Tournament Watch and play in the special PTW poker freerolls.

It's free and easy to join and in 2008 we gave away over $1.5m in prizes!

Next Team PTW Freerolls

    403 Forbidden


    You don't have permission to access /paw/events.php on this server.

    Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Casino Tournaments

Our tournament schedule shows you the upcoming Casino based live poker tournaments

Next Live Poker Tournaments

    Error: Unable to locate the Database.

Tournament News

Latest News

Poker Information

Best Tournament Poker Rooms